Faculty Assembly – Home2022-09-13T13:47:25+00:00

Faculty Assembly


The Faculty Assembly at Sul Ross State University is the principal faculty governance organization for the Alpine campus. Its constitution designates a number of permanent councils whose primary role is to advise the University Administration on matters relating to the academic mission of the University.

The Faculty Assembly may also appoint special councils to carry out specified tasks. These councils report back to the Faculty Assembly and recommendations are forwarded to the administration through the appropriate council.

The Faculty Assembly Executive Council shall oversee the general interests and business of the Faculty Assembly.

Place an item on the Agenda

Have something to discuss? Members may contact any member of the Faculty Assembly Executive Council to place an item on a future meeting agenda.


Outstanding Teaching Award – Accepting Nominations

The announcement was made at the September 20, 2021 Faculty Assembly Membership Meeting that nominations for the Outstanding Teaching Award are now open.

One page nominations will be submitted to the Faculty Assembly President and the Faculty
Senate President in the fall semester. Alpine will solicit one-page nominations in
September and October. RGC will solicit one-page nominations in the fall semester.

The Alpine Faculty Assembly will disseminate the nomination forms to the
membership before the November meeting. The membership will determine
whether it wants to disseminate the nominations forms to the membership with
or without the nominator identified.

The Alpine Faculty Assembly Executive Council will confirm the eligibility of
the nominees before the November meeting and create a ballot. The Alpine
Faculty Assembly will vote for three nominees at the November meeting.

As RGC’s Faculty Senate only meets once each long semester, the Senate will
determine its nominee by email.

Completed nomination forms and packet materials are due to the Vice President for Academic
Affairs by the second Friday in February.

The Provost, in consultation with the Alpine Faculty Assembly and the RGC Faculty Senate, will
determine the Selection Committee members by the second Friday in February.

The Committee completes the selection process by the second Friday in March.

The Recipient is recognized by the end of the spring semester at the UC.

The Minnie Stevens Piper nominations are submitted by the November deadline.

Fall 2021 Faculty Assembly Meeting Dates Announced

– via Dr. Kathy Stein, Faculty Assembly President –

Fall meetings for Faculty Assembly will take place in a hybrid format: in-person and online. Information for joining online will be made available via email before each meeting.

  • Monday, September 20, 2021 in WSB 101 (or online) at 3:30 PM
  • Tuesday, October 19, 2021 in ACR 204 (or online) at 3:30 PM
  • Monday, November 15, 2021 in WSB 101 (or online) at 3:30 PM

The Joint Faculty Assembly/Faculty Senate meeting will take place on Monday, November 29, at 3:30 PM in ACR 204 (Alpine) and on Microsoft Teams. Location information for RGC and information for joining online will be made available before the meeting.

Spring 2021 Meeting Dates Announced

Note that all meetings for Spring 2021 will take place on Zoom or MS Teams. Details will be distributed in a timely fashion via email.

Faculty Assembly membership meetings for the Spring 2021 semester are as follows:

  • Monday, February 22, 3:30 PM
  • Tuesday, March 23, 3:30 PM
  • Monday, April 19, 3:30 PM

Executive Council

Eric Busby

Asst Professor Industrial Technology
Industrial Technology
ITB 101

Anirban Bhattacharjee

Asst Profess Physics/Astronomy
Biology, Geology & Physical Science
WSB 317
432 837 8249

Jennifer Miller-Ray

Assist Professor of Education
MAB 309 C
432 837-8013

Jessica Kelsch

Instructor of Geology
Biology, Geology & Physical Science
WSB 316
432 837 8657

Billy Jack Ray, Ed.D.

Chair /Assistant Professor / Graduate Program Coordinator
GPC 101

Joseph Velasco, PhD

Assoc Prof of Communication
Fine Arts & Communication
FAB 206B
432 837 8370
Go to Top