### Fall Faculty Senate Meeting September 18, 2020

Faculty in Attendance: Michael Ortiz, Veronica Mendez, Maria Gear, Sally Roche, Thomas Matula, Ed Moura, Chris Davis, Justin Coleman, Gina Stocks, Samuel Garcia, Wesley Wynne, Audrey Taylor, Dan Foley.

Meeting called to order at 10:21.

Motion to approve the minutes made and seconded. No discussion. Motion carried with all in favor.

#### **Election of Officers**

President: Michael Ortiz nominated by Wynne. Matula seconded. Ortiz elected with all in favor.

Vice President: Moura nominated by Wynne and Garcia, declined. Garcia nominated by Wynne, declined. Taylor nominated by Roche and seconded by Wynne. Taylor elected with all in favor.

Secretary: Matula nominated, declined. Gear nominated, declined. Wynne nominated by Roche. Seconded by Gear. Wynne elected with all in favor.

### Officers' Reports

Ortiz: Spoke to President Gallego, Vice President Muñoz about issues raised at last meeting (La Vida Lobo, summer workload, etc.), had positive conversation. President Gallego has been looking into has RGC money been staying at RGC.

#### **New Business**

Recommendations for committees, teams, and councils: see attached addendum.

Motion to accept recommendations. Motion seconded. Motion carried with all in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 11:18.

Addendum: Committee and Team Recommendations

The 2020-21 RGC Faculty Senate officers are

- Michael Ortiz (President)
- Audrey Taylor (Vice President)
- Wesley Wynne (Secretary)

Senators include: Efrain Adames, Justin Coleman, Christopher Davis, Daniel Foley, Samuel Garcia, Maria Gear, Jorge Hernandez, Thomas Matula, Veronica Mendez, Edison Moura, Miriam Muñiz Quiz, Michael Ortiz, Sarah Roche, Todd Russell, Jesse Salazar, Mary Jane Sauceda, Gina Stocks, Audrey Taylor, Christopher Tresslar, Martin Urbina, Timothy Wilson, Wesley Wynne.

Committee and team recommendations are as follows:

Academic and Administrative Advisory Committee

- Senate President (Michael Ortiz)
- Thomas Matula (2021)
- Daniel Foley (2022)

#### Access & Excellence Committee

- Sarah Roche (2022)
- Gina Stocks (2023)
- Justin Coleman (2022)

#### ADA Education and Policy Team

- Veronica Mendez (2022)
- Justin Coleman (2023)

#### Alcohol and Other Drug Education Coalition Committee

• Samuel Garcia (2023)

#### Commencement Team (RGC)

• Timothy Wilson (2022)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (RGC)

- Martin Urbina (2022)
- Jesse Salazar (2023)
- Jorge Hernandez (2022)
- Mary Jane Sauceda (2021)

Executive Committee on Campus Master Plan Development (RGC)

- Jorge Hernandez (2023)
- Thomas Matula (2021)
- Michael Ortiz (2022)
- Miriam Muñiz (2023)

### Financial Aid/Assistance Appeals Committee (RGC)

- Edison Moura (2023)
- Miriam Muñiz (2022)
- Wesley Wynne (2021)

### Instructional Technology Team

Christopher Davis (2022)

### Institutional Review Board Committee

Maria Gear (2023)

# Marketing Committee

Audrey Taylor (2023)

#### Online Distance Education Committee

- Christopher Davis (2021)
- Thomas Matula (2022)
- Samuel Garcia (2023)

### Orientation Team (RGC)

- Wesley Wynne (2023)
- Audrey Taylor (2022)

#### Risk Management Committee

• Christopher Tresslar (2023)

•
(Recommend reducing RGC faculty representation to one member.)

## Staff Awards, Nominations, & Selection Committee

Senate President (Michael Ortiz)

## Student Publications Team

• Thomas Matula (2023)

(Recommend reducing RGC faculty representation to one member.)

Students Service Fee Advisory Committee: separate RGC committee with 2 senate representatives.

- Daniel Foley (2022)
- Efrain Adames (2023)

Undergraduate Academic Appeals Committee (RGC)

- Efrain Adames (2021)
- Samuel Garcia (2022)
- Jorge Hernandez (2023)

•

(Recommend reducing RGC faculty representation to three members.)

University Scholarship Committee (RGC)

- Maria Gear (2022)
- Sarah Roche (2021)
- Jesse Salazar (2023)

# University Survey Committee

• Mary Jane Sauceda (2023)