Access and Excellence Committee

About the Committee

The Access and Excellence Committee will review pertinent literature; reach out to other university organizations; and analyze and integrate available data (i.e., National Survey of Student Engagement, Graduating Student Survey, etc.) relating to the Lobo Experience at Sul Ross State University. Using that information, the committee will develop an innovative plan to enhance the Lobo Experience and positively impact recruitment, retention, persistence, and graduation. Committee members will collaborate with other divisions in the university to implement, evaluate, and revise the plan over time.

Primary Responsibility Area:  University-wide


April Aultman Becker, Chair Assistant VP for Institutional Effectiveness ex-officio
Betsy Helesic Library Appointee through 9/30/2025
Dr. Sally Roche, Rio Grande College – Humanities SACSCOC ex-officio
Dr. Gina Stocks, Rio Grande College – Education Faculty Senate Appointee through 2023
Dr. Veronica Mendez, Rio Grande College – Humanities Faculty Senate Appointee
Dr. Ronda Hayes, College of Education & Professional Studies Faculty Assembly Appointee – EPS through 9/30/2025
Dr. Savannah Williamson, College of Arts & Science Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee Appointee
Dr. Christopher Tresslar, Education
Ben Telesca Student Life Staff Appointee
Candes Ramon Student Life Staff Appointee
Dr. Neal Xiong through 9/30/2025
vacant Alpine SGA Apponintee

Quick Links and Documents

Meeting Minutes

November 13, 2020

January 29, 2021

President’s Committee/Teams Annual Report