The Strategic Planning Committee is responsible for reviewing and revising the university mission statement and goals and objectives.  The committee’s actions will be data-informed.  The members will set new goals and  prioritize activities and resources that support our university mission.  During the process, committee members will seek input from internal and external stakeholders.  The creation of the 2022-2027 Mission Statement and Strategic Plan is the primary responsibility of this committee.


Ryan Luna Chair & Associate Professor of Natural Resource Management
Rosemary Briseno Associate Professor of English
Ismail Gunes Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Eric Busby Assistant Professor of Industrial Technology
Laura Payne Dean of the College of Literature, Arts & Social Sciences and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies
Kevin Urbanczyk Professor of Geology and Director of the Rio Grande Research Center
April Aultman Becker Assistant VP for Institutional Effectiveness
Bonnie Albright VP for Finance & Operations
Ben Telesca VP for Student Affairs
Dominick Percoco Academic Technician & Teleconferencing Coordinator
Betsy Helesic Director of Library & Research Technologies
Amanda Workman Athletic Director
Jesse Salazar Assistant Professor of Education
Gina Stocks Associate Professor of Education
Ed Moura Professor of Business
Juan Garza Technical Support Specialist
Bianca Vela Administrative Assistant
Jeanne Qvarnstrom Associate Professor of Education
Eric Funasaki Strategic Plan Coordinator, Associate Professor of Mathematics & Dean of Research & Sponsored Programs
Tom Matula Professor of Business Administration
Ronnie Harris Counselor
Bernie Cantens Executive VP & Provost

Quick Links and Documents

Strategic Planning Committee Minutes: 



President’s Committee/Teams Annual Report