Presented Awards and Honors

Academic Excellence in Coaching Award

The Academic Excellence in Coaching Award honors Sul Ross coaches who recognize and promote the importance of academic achievement and foster an environment leading to the graduation of student-athletes.

2020 – 2021: Coach Katie Novak

2019 – 2020: Coach Antuan Washington

2018 – 2019: Coach C.J. Aragon

2017 – 2018: Coach Troy Canaba

2016 – 2017: Coach C.J. Richardson

2015 – 2016: Coach Bobby Mesker

2014 – 2015: Coach John Pearce

Outstanding Teaching Award

The annual Outstanding Teaching Award recognizes outstanding teaching among Sul Ross faculty.

Previous recipients of the Outstanding Teaching Award since 1983 include: Metha Sprinkle (Education); Ernest Reesing (Range Animal Science); William L. Beatty (Business Administration); David L. Cockrum (Psychology); Jimmy D. Case (Political Science); Robie Golden (Mathematics); Bob Pannell (Education); Wayne Sheehan (History); Rex Wilson (Music); George Bradley (Communications and Theatre); Greg Schwab (Communications and Theatre); Daniel Vrudny (Industrial Technology); Keith West (Communications and Theatre); Ellen Boyd (Music); Abelardo Baeza (English and Spanish); Ray Beaulieu (Mathematics); Mark Saka (History); Patti Trietsch (Education); Jeff Pendergraft (Animal Science); Barbara Tyler (Education); Jesus Tafoya (Spanish); Dona Roman (Communication/Theatre); Sheehan; Martin Terry (Biology); Carol Fairlie (Art); Louis Harveson (Natural Resource Management); Sharon Hileman (Languages and Literature); Christopher Ritzi (Biology); Bonnie Warnock (Natural Resource Management); Amy Moreland (Political Science); Joseph Velasco (Communication); Robert Hunter (Criminal Justice); Theron Francis (Languages and Literature); and Jamie Boyd (Animal Science).