Faculty Assembly – Home2021-05-06T18:39:57+00:00

Faculty Assembly


The Faculty Assembly at Sul Ross State University is the principal faculty governance organization for the Alpine campus. Its constitution designates a number of permanent councils whose primary role is to advise the University Administration on matters relating to the academic mission of the University.

The Faculty Assembly may also appoint special councils to carry out specified tasks. These councils report back to the Faculty Assembly and recommendations are forwarded to the administration through the appropriate council.

The Faculty Assembly Executive Council shall oversee the general interests and business of the Faculty Assembly.

Place an item on the Agenda

Have something to discuss? Members may contact any member of the Faculty Assembly Executive Council to place an item on a future meeting agenda.


Spring 2021 Meeting Dates Announced

Note that all meetings for Spring 2021 will take place on Zoom or MS Teams. Details will be distributed in a timely fashion via email.

Faculty Assembly membership meetings for the Spring 2021 semester are as follows:

  • Monday, February 22, 3:30 PM
  • Tuesday, March 23, 3:30 PM
  • Monday, April 19, 3:30 PM

Outstanding Teacher Award nomination processes updated

via Dr. Kathy Stein, Faculty Assembly President and Dr. Michael Ortiz, Faculty Senate President

The process by which nominations are made to the Outstanding Teacher Award have been reviewed and updated this fall. The updated document is now available in the Awards and Honors section of the Faculty Assembly website.

Fall 2020 Meeting Dates Announced

via Betsy Evans, Faculty Assembly Secretary-Treasurer

This Fall, Faculty Assembly Membership Meetings will take place in a blended format: Zoom and in-person, in a new location: ACR 204. For those attending on Zoom, specific information about connecting will be made available via email prior to each meeting.

Meetings are planned for the following dates, all at 3:30 PM:

  • Monday, September 14
  • Tuesday, October 6
  • Monday, November 2

Additionally, a joint meeting of the Alpine Faculty Assembly and Rio Grande College Faculty Senate will take place on the following date at 3:30 PM:

  • Monday, November 30


Executive Council

Kathy Stein

Director of the Academic Center for Excellence
Academic Center for Excellence
FH 214B

Theron Francis

Asst Professor Language & Lit
Languages & Literature
MAB 112C
432 837-8283

Betsy Evans

Director of Library and Research Technologies
WML 107
432 837-8312

Eric T. Funasaki, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics/Dean of Research & Sponsored Programs/Strategic Plan Coordinator
Computer Science & Mathematics
ACR 109C

Christopher Herrera, PhD, MBA

Chair, Assistant Professor & Graduate Program Coordinator
Kinesiology & Human Performance
GPC 101

David Leaver

Associate Professor Chemistry
Biology, Geology & Physical Science
WSB 318
432 837 8115

Dexter Wakefield

Asso Professor Agricultural Education
Animal Science
RAS 108
432 837 8210
Go to Top